Jes Olesen

Jes Olesen

Clinical Professor

Member of:

  • Neurology


Doctor of Medical Sciences (D.Med.Sci), University of Copenhagen, 1974
Professor of Neurology, University of Copenhagen, 1985-
Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (FRCP), London, 1998
Doctor Honoris Causa (D.Hon.C.), University of Rome, La Sapienza, 2001


Born September 9th, 1941 in Hobro, Denmark. Danish citizen.
MD, Faculty of Medicine, University of Copenhagen 1967
Residency, Departments of Neurology, Bispebjerg Hospital and Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen 1969-1973.
Clerkship and course in Neurology at the National Hospital, Queens Square, London 1971
2nd year residency in Neurology, Department of Neurology, The New York Hospital, Cornell Medical Center, New York 1972-1973.
Senior registrar in Neurology 1974-1976.
Consultant neurologist, Department of Neurology, Hillerød Hospital 1977.
Consultant neurologist, Department of Neurology, Gentofte University Hospital, Copenhagen 1978-1993.
Professor of Neurology, University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark,
Department of Neurology, Glostrup University Hospital, Copenhagen 1985 -
Chairman of Neurology, Department of Neurology, Glostrup University Hospital, Copenhagen 1993-2000
Founding chairman Danish Headache Center, Department of Neurology, Glostrup University Hospital,   2001 -


Doctor of Medical Sciences (D.Med.Sci), University of Copenhagen, 1974
Associate Professor of Neurology, University of Copenhagen, 1975-1985
Professor of Neurology, University of Copenhagen 1985-
Visiting Professor, Harvard University 1999-2000
Director Lundbeck Foundation Center for Neurovascular signaling (LUCENS), Glostrup University Hospital, 2006 –
Visiting professor, UCLA, Los Angeles 2009-2010


Pre-graduate teaching at the University of Copenhagen since 1975.
Distinguished teacher award, Faculty of Medicine, University of Copenhagen 1983.
Extensive post-graduate teaching in Denmark and abroad
Editor and author of many books (see: Research).


President of Danish Migraine Society 1980-1987.
President Scandinavian Migraine Society 1983-1985.
President International Headache Society 1993-1994
Chairman of the 1st International Headache Classification Committee 1985-1988.
Chairman of the 2nd International Headache Classification Committee 1999-2003
Chairman of the 3nd International Headache Classification Committee 2009-
Chairman Danish Stroke Association (Patient Association) 1987-1992.
Council member International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) 1990-1996.
Chairman of the Publication Committee of IASP 1990-1994.
Chairman the Scientific Committee, European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS) 1992-1995.
Vice-President EFNS 1990-1995.
President EFNS 1996-2001.
Past President EFNS 2002-2006
Member European Dana Alliance for the Brain (EDAB) 1996-
Chairman Liaisons and EU Affairs Committee EFNS 2001-
President European Brain Council (EBC) 2002-2008
Past President EBC 2008-2010


Co-Founder of the scientific journal Cephalalgia 1980
Co-Founder of Danish Stroke Association (patient organization) 1987.
Co-Founder of European Federation of Neurological Societies 1991.
Founder of the scientific journal European Journal of Neurology 1995.
Co-Founder European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA) (Federation of European Patient Associations).
Founder of European Brain Council (EBC) (Federation of federations of European organizations with an interest in the brain) 2002.
Founder of Danish Headache Center 2001.


Australian Headache Society 1985.
American Neurological Association 1986-
German Headache Society 1987.
Austrian Neurological Society 1992.
Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians 1998.
French Neurological Society (Societé Francaise de Neurologie) 1999.
Association of British Neurologists 2001.
German Neurological Society 2008
Polish Neurological Society 2009
European Federations of Neurological Associations (EFNA) 2009.
European Federation of Neurological Societies 2011


Harold G. Wolff Award, American Headache Society 1982
Arnold P Friedman Award, American Headache Society 1990
Monrad Krohn Prize, University of Oslo 1995
Silver Medal, University of Marseilles 1995
John J. Bonica Award, American Pain Society 1996
Gold Medal, University of Bratislava 1997
Honorary doctorate, University of Rome 2001
Kleins Legat, The Medical Society of Copenhagen 2002
Mångbergs Pris, University of Umeå, Sweden 2002
Federigo Sicuteri prize, Italy 2003
The IHS-Cephalalgia lecture Award 2003
The Mogens Fog prize 2004
The Niels A Lassen prize 2004
Best paper award, International Headache Society award 2005
Ottorino Rossi Award, Pavia, 2007
The Keeler Hammer award headache cooperative of the Pacific, 2010
Lifetime achievement award Headache Cooperative of New England, 2010.
The Great Nordic Research Prize of the Lundbeck Foundation, 2010.


Ad hoc consultant for many multinational drug companies.
Scientific advisory board: GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer, Boehringer Ingelheim, Bristol Meyers Squibb, Eisai, NeurAxon, Minster Pharmaceuticals, Merck (MSD)
Principal investigator in many multinational drug trials.
Board member Lundbeck International Neuroscience Foundation 2003-2009.
Evaluation committee, The Grethe Lundbeck Foundation European Brain Research Prize
Several patents of therapeutic methodologies for migraine and tension-type headache.
Board member and part owner of HeadExplorer, Inc.


Associate Editor Cephalalgia 1980-1986 and 1999-2002.
Associate Editor Pain 1979-1990.
Membership of Editorial Boards:Clinical Neurology and NeuroSurgery 1978-1985.
Functional Neurology 1985-2002, Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow in Metabolism 1989-1992, Acta Neurologica Scandinavica 1990-1997, European Neurology 1992-2002, Current Opinion in Neurology 1991-1998, Italian Journal of Neurology 1990-2002, European Journal of Neurology 1995-2001. Referee for a large number of scientific journals including NEJM, Lancet, Brain and Nature.


Has published 461 papers in scientific journals with peer-review and 229 papers or book chapters without peer-review. Has authored or edited 33 scientific books. The book entitled “The Headaches” is an encyclopedic volume covering all aspects of the headaches from basic molecular mechanisms to treatment and prevention. Both the first (1993), the second (2000) and third (2005) editions have been generally accepted as the ultimate source of reference within the headache field.
Total citations 31.550. H-factor 93 (Google Scholar).


Jes Olesen has initiated and supervised 16 doctoral theses and 25 Ph.D. theses all conferred by the University of Copenhagen. He presently supervises 5 Ph.D. students and 2 post doctoral researchers working on a doctoral thesis.

ID: 2934