Jens Frederik Rehfeld

Jens Frederik Rehfeld


Member of:

  • Clinical Biochemistry


1967 MD, University of Aarhus, Denmark.

1974 D.M.Sc., University of Copenhagen ("Gastrins in Serum").

1981- Professor of Clinical Biochemistry, University of Copenhagen, and administrative head (1981-2010) of the Department of Clinical Biochemistry, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen.

1988 Specialist competence in clinical biochemistry, Denmark.

1989 D.Sc., University of Copenhagen (“Pituitary progastrin and proCCK”).


The main theme is bioactive peptides (in particular gastrin, cholecystokinin, and insulin), their biosynthesis, methods of measurement, and clinical relevance. Results so far have been published in approx. 900 publications, including 535 original articles (10 in Nature/Science), 70 review articles, 50 textbook chapters, and 7 books (including the monography “A Sense of Science” (in Danish)). Citations >25,000; h-index 76.


Member of

1979-83 The Danish Medical Research Council (deputy chairman 1981-83)

1981- The Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters

1981- The Hungarian Society of Gastroenterology (honorary member)

1984-  The European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)

1989-93 The Executive Committee of the Health Faculty and Senate of the University of Copenhagen

1992-00 Steering Committee, The International Symposia on Regulatory Peptides (chairman 1994-00)

1997- The Russian Academy for Science and Higher Education (honorary member)

2007- The Royal Society of Science (Uppsala)

2011- The European Neuroendocrine Tumor Society (honorary member).


Honorary awards


1979 “The Mack-Foster Award”, The European Society of Clinical Investigation, Cambridge, U.K.

1982 “The Keith Harrison Memorial Lecture Award”, The Australian Society of Endocrinology, Sydney, Australia.

1994 “Prix van Gysel”, The Royal Belgian Academy of Science, Brussels, Belgium.

1998 “The Ismar Boas Lecture Award”, The German Society of Gastroenterology, Kiel, Germany.

2011 “Life Achievement Award”, The European Neuroendocrine Tumour Society, Lisbon, Portugal.


1980 “The Anders Jahre Prize for Young Investigators”, Oslo, Norway.

1990 “The Poul Astrup Prize in Clinical Biochemistry”, Trondheim, Norway.

1992 “The Bengt Ihre Lecture Award”, Stockholm, Sweden.

1996 “The Anders Jahre Prize for Medical Research”, Oslo, Norway.

2006 “The Nordic Research Award of the Lundbeck Foundation”, Copenhagen, Denmark. Danish

1981 “F.E.M. Gaardon and Wife’s Prize”, Copenhagen, Denmark.

1982 “The Novo Prize”, Copenhagen, Denmark.

1983 “The Research Award of the Odd Fellow Order”, Odense, Denmark.

2008 “The K. and F. Johansen Award for Medical Research”, Copenhagen, Denmark.

2009 “The University of Aarhus Alumnus Prize (the Holst-Knudsen Prize)”, Aarhus, Denmark.

In addition, minor Danish awards. Knight of the Order of Dannebrog (1994), and Knight of the first degree of the Order of Dannebrog (2007).

ID: 3844