Allan Flyvbjerg

Allan Flyvbjerg

Clinical Professor

Professor Allan Flyvbjerg graduated from Aarhus University, Denmark in 1986. He defended his thesis (DMSc) in 1993, became specialist in Internal Medicine and Endocrinology in 1999, Chief Physician in 2001, Professor in Experimental Medical Research in 2005 and Professor in Endocrinology (Chair) in 2009 at the Department of Endocrinology/Internal Medicine at Aarhus University Hospital and the Medical Research Laboratories, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Aarhus C., Denmark. From 2010-2016 he was Dean at the Faculty of Health at Aarhus University, Denmark. Since 2016 he has been CEO of Steno Diabetes Center Copenhagen (SDCC) at the Capital Region of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark and Clinical Professor at the University of Copenhagen.

Allan Flyvbjerg perform preclinical and clinical research focused on the pathogenesis leading to diabetic micro- and macroangiopathy (diabetic late complications). The aim of the research is to combat the increased incidence and prevalence of cardiovascular disease, blindness and end-stage renal failure in patients with diabetes. He is author of more than 600 scientific publications and well cited by his colleagues nationally and internationally, with a H-index (Web of Science): 70 with 21,500 citations and H-index (Scopus): 77 with 25,500 citations.

Allan Flyvbjerg has been President of the Danish Diabetes Association (app. 90,000 members) from 2000-2011 and is member of several national and international boards and councils. He was Associate Editor of Diabetologia from 2007-2013 and Co-Editor on a Textbook of Diabetes from Wiley-Blackwell in 2012 and 2018. Further, he is main-author on the diabetes-chapter in the Danish Textbook of Medicine.  

In the period 2016-2017 he was member of the ‘Growth team for life-science’ established by the Danish Government. Since 2018 he has been Chairman of Board of Directors in the Danish Diabetes Academy, a talent development program for future researcher and clinicians within diabetes.  Finally, in 2019 he graduated from the Copenhagen Business School (CBS) with the CBS Executive Board of Director Education.

He has received several awards for his scientific contribution, including the EASD Castelli Pedroli Prize/16th Camillo Golgi Lecture in 2001, the ESCI Award for Excellence in Clinical Science in 2004, the Christian Hagedorn Award in 2006, the SSSD Knud Lundbæk Award in 2007, the Diabetes-UK Dorothy Hodgkin Prize in 2009, the EDNSG Ruth Østerby Prize in 2010, the Novo Nordisk Foundation Prize and the Erhoff Prize both in 2011, he was knighted by the Queen of Denmark in 2011. Finally, he received the Bagger-Sørensen Foundation Award in 2017. In 2019 he was proclaimed Honorary Member of the Danish Diabetes Association.



618 printed/in press (494 of these articles are peer reviewed and 124 review articles). Furthermore, 15 articles submitted.
H-index (Scopus): 78, citations ~25,900. -     H-index (Web of Science): 71, citations ~21,700.

ID: 984933